What Makes it Gummy?

Gelatin vs. Pectin

So, I have recently given up gummy candy and Jell-O like products because I’m a little grossed out by gelatin. Don’t get me wrong, there is nothing really bad about gelatin and it is safe to consume … except for the fact that it grosses me out! Gelatin is a protein obtained from animal hides and bones and is used as a thickening and gelling agent. In addition, it has little nutritional value, due to the absence of essential amino acids. It can be found in powdered dessert mixes (Jell-O), marshmallows, yogurt, ice cream, cheese spreads, beverages, and jelly.

However, I learned today that there is a solution if you are also grossed out my gelatin.

Pectin!

Pectin is often used similarly as gelatin, but instead of being made of animal hide and bone it is made from plants. Pectin is a safe carbohydrate found in the cell walls of fruits and veggies such as, citrus, apples, beets, and carrots. Pectin is used for fruit jellies and to thicken barbeque sauce, cranberry sauce, canned frosting, and yogurt. Ergo, pectin is a great substitute for those of you who find gelatin made from animal bone and hide displeasing.

 “Mott’s for Tots”

When I gave up gummy fruit snacks because of the gelatin, I thought that was the end of my gummy days. But, I recently stumbled upon “Mott’s for Tots” which replaces gelatin with pectin … so, I bought a box and I’m excited to try it! In addition, “Mott’s for Tots” is gluten free and fat free, and contains no artificial flavors, colors, sweeteners, or preservatives.